You are here:
15 June 2018 / news

Working permit no longer required for Croatian nationals


On 8 June the Minister of Social Affairs announced that the Dutch government has decided to not extend the transitional scheme, which is currently in place and requires Croatian nationals to obtain a work permit (tewerkstellingsvergunning) to work in the Netherlands.

Croatia became a Member State of the European Union in 2013. The Accession Treaty for Croatia allowed for a transitional scheme of maximally seven years, divided into three phases (2 years – 3 years – 2 years). The second phase ends on 30 June 2018. The government of the Netherlands decided not to prolong the transitional scheme, because – amongst other reasons – the current Dutch labour market is strong enough.

The work permit for Croatian nationals is no longer required as of 1 July 2018. Croatia will also not apply a transitional scheme for Dutch nationals who wish to work in Croatia from the beginning of next month.

More info? Contact your regular Loyens & Loeff advisor or Wendy Terporten.

Follow our Showcase Page on LinkedIn for updates and more BenefitsBits: