You are here:
22 June 2020 / event

Webinar – The next wave of EU tax developments – How Asia can prepare

We cordially invite you to join our expert webinar on 22 June 2020 on relevant EU tax developments in an EU – Asia context, to discuss the rapidly changing challenges of the matter that is more and more becoming an important boardroom topic: international taxation.

Taxation is an ever-changing topic, and has changed fast over the last decade. Concepts such as ‘fair share’ gained momentum, and a battle against tax evasion started. People went to the streets to force companies to pay more tax on, say, coffee or online adverts. Politicians followed suit and proposed a wide range of measures, including Anti Tax Avoidance Directives, increased substance requirements, a Multilateral Instrument, Mandatory Disclosure of aggressive tax planning and measures aimed at payments to tax haven entities. Tax managers started to question what is now their biggest fear: higher taxes or bad publicity about the tax policy, and are struggling to stay in control and to keep track with increasing compliance obligations.

In the webinar several EU tax developments, as well as the Dutch and Luxembourg implementation will be discussed by our international tax experts based in our offices in Asia, the Netherlands and Luxembourg. What is the impact of these EU tax developments on Asian companies investing in Europe? Is it still appropriate to follow the law, or is there an increased sense of morality in tax discussions? What does the law actually say, and what are the key attention points? And is it still worthwhile to invest in Europe with all these anti-tax avoidance measures in place?

Speakers

Marieke Bakker (Netherlands) – tax partner
Marja de Best (Netherlands) – tax partner
Willem Bon (Luxembourg) – tax partner
Hans Rothuizen (Singapore / Hong Kong) – senior associate tax
Rogier Vermeer (Singapore) – associate tax

Moderator

Barbara Voskamp – partner ASEAN

Date and time

Monday 22 June 2020
16:00 – 17:30 Singapore / Hong Kong / China
17:00 – 18:30 Japan / Korea
13:30 – 15:00 India
10:00 – 11:30 Netherlands / Luxembourg

Registration

1. Please use the button below to register.

2. You will receive an email which includes:

• a personal link to access the webinar
• a link to check for connection issues to participate in the webinar
• audio options: please choose between computer audio or audio via your phone
We look forward to seeing you there.

Kind regards,
Loyens & Loeff